Tags

I just got back from America, and while I was there Sarah and I decided to go and see the new Paranormal Activity film. I’ve been thinking about writing this review for a few days now and I keep putting it off, which I think says it all. I just don’t really want to talk about it.

I’m kind of in the middle as far as the PA films go. I liked the first one, though I didn’t find it as terrifying as the hype made it out to be. Of course, this could be because I didn’t actually see it in the cinema. I feel like it’s one of those films that only really works when watched in the dark on the big screen. The second film I could take or leave. I really liked PA3. I have to say, I wasn’t terribly excited for the fourth instalment. The trailer hadn’t indicated that the film would bring anything new to the table. Still, it was Halloween, so we thought we might as well see it.

It really wasn’t that scary, but that isn’t my main complaint. There are plenty of horror films I don’t find scary which I absolutely love nonetheless, and I don’t think the fear factor can always determine a film being good. The main complaint I have is that it seemed kind of like the film makers just didn’t care any more. Like they were churning the film out to make some money over the Halloween period with no attempts to create anything with artistic integrity. The moments that were supposed to be frightening were mostly a chance to show off new CGI techniques, which I think most horror fans find frustrating. The think I appreciated about the first film was that it was done on a shoestring budget, and most of the effects were practical. In fact, there was very little that we actually saw in the first film, which made it a lot creepier. In part 4 we have people levitating, demonic faces, people being thrown around a room, and it’s just kind of overkill.

And have I mentioned that the plot really didn’t make any sense? Because it really didn’t. And exactly how many demons are there? Because there’s the one possessing Katie, which I’m assuming is the demon from the first three films, and then there seems to be a different one in the family’s house. Or is that the same one? It made no sense! The characters made decisions that really didn’t make any sense, as well. And the whole covern thing is kind of silly to me, and was the thing that sort of disappointed me about the third film. I liked the idea of it just being about this one family, and it feels like the creators tried to make it too big. I don’t know.

There were a couple of things I liked. I thought the infra red effect was pretty neat. And I actually liked the family in this film. I was definitely rooting for the girl, and I liked the scene with her in the garage.

Still, the main things that I was thinking throughout the film were ‘wow, these people’s electricity bills must be huge, don’t they ever turn their appliances off?’ and ‘I hope the cat doesn’t bite it’.

I feel like a PA5 is pretty inevitable. I’m also pretty sure that I’m not going to be watching it.

