Tags

, ,

As Hallowe’en is my absolute favourite time of year, I wanted to do something to mark the occasion. In previous years, the amazing folk at Fascination With Fear ran a festival of lists throughout the month of October and, with their permission, I’m going to do something similar. For every day of October I’m going to post a list of 10 horror-related things. Because I fucking love lists almost as much as I love horror, and I’m excited. I even have a Hallowe’en Tree this year! It’s going to be amazeballs.

Anyhoo, I’m starting this off with…

10 Psychopathic Killers

The scariest thing about psychopaths is that they aren’t crazy. They suffer from a condition which stops them from feeling empathy or remorse, and inhibits behavioral controls, though they can be confident and charming. Here are some of my favourite psychopaths in horror cinema.

1. John Doe (Se7en)

seven-spaceyWonderfully creative in his brutality and always one step ahead of everyone else

2. Rhoda Penmark (The Bad Seed)

925981b0c8a0fb205c30b110.LThe little girl who proved that evil can come in all forms, and is perhaps most deadly when it takes the appearance of innocence.

3. Buffalo Bill (The Silence of the Lambs)

SilenceoftheLambs20Calling to mind real-life killers Ed Gein and Ted Bundy, who can forget Jame Gumb’s skin suit and dungeon of horrors?

4. Patrick Bateman (American Psycho)

patrick-bateman-cheersCharming, successful, overly fond of chainsaws…

5. Otis Firefly (House of 1000 Corpses, The Devil’s Rejects)

622804739_lOkay, so all the Firefly family could be on this list, but Otis is the most brutal, and the most eloquent. And who can forget that skin mask?

6. Jean-Baptiste Grenouille (Perfume: the Story of a Murderer)

435-8A killer incapable of caring about anything beyond creating the perfect scent. And he’s even creepier in the book!

7. Hannibal Lecter (The Silence of the Lambs, Red Dragon, Hannibal)

SilenceoftheLambs03My personal favourite psychopath (is it weird that I have a favourite psychopath?), you somehow can’t help rooting for Lecter in spite of the horrific things he does. He’s just so damn charming!

8. Lola (The Loved Ones)

1366342924324The girl you really, really don’t want to turn down if she asks you to the prom.

9. Captain Vidal (Pan’s Labyrinth)

pans-labyrinth-capt-vidalForget the Pale Man, I found the Captain the most terrifying character in this film.

10. Billy Loomis (Scream)

BillyLoomis3-1A psycho who took his love for horror movies a little too far

